Lists don’t work for me, three tasks do

I could be quite productive, but only in bouts. I’d let the work accumulate, and then, in a big effort, I sacrified a day to dismantle the mountain.  This was very tiring, as it left me with this constant bad consciousness, this nagging knowledge of things that had to be done.

Some weeks ago, I was preparing for a spinning demonstration, and a journalist, who was to write about the event, asked me (while being already sure about the answer she’d receive and the article she’d write): “Oh, you’ll do it in a traditional costume, won’t you?”

Um, no. I’m a person of my period. Tradition is good and it is important to keep it alive, but traditional hobbies know how to adapt, too. And that triggered some unknown roaring honour in me. In an, for my old habits, absolute unthinkable time lapse I span 4oz of wool and wove that into a chic scarf, worn with pride and modern clothing.

There I had it. The proof. Just do it. Three words, very easy to say, but essentially, it just gets down to them, precisely. Just do it. You can. Just focus. Focus. Focus is my new mantra.

Making lists didn’t work for me. I would cross out some tasks, but never get to the end.

Now I finally have understood how I work. Put yourself three tasks in your head, let them fill your entire thinking, and focus. And I produce. And I finish. And, most importantly, I reward myself with things I really desire. Just do it.

Now, while finishing brilliantly my new tasks, I just have to dismount at the same time the Everest of ancient work ethic induced piles 🙂

2 thoughts on “Lists don’t work for me, three tasks do

  1. TheQuiltedLion August 17, 2015 / 5:00 pm

    I should try this…my lists get to be too overwhelming and then I waste time figuring out which tasks I should do first. And then I toss the list away. I think I could manage 3 tasks at a time.

  2. Mokihana November 16, 2015 / 3:32 am

    My lists are overwhelming too… I absolutely love your three tasks idea!

Leave a Reply

