THE STORY BEHIND THE TREE

Last year I stumbled upon one great example of craftsmanship. A (great-) grandmother decorated an entire christmas tree with Octophrost, Santa of the Sea, one  felt stuffy for each and every of her (great-) grandchildren. There are almost one hundred Octophrosts, each one taking approximately eight hours to complete.

Alice, from futuregirl, created this great pattern. When I discoverd her Supercute Sea Creatures at the end of the year, and as Christmas was approaching, I thought of this tree, combined everything, and the idea for our marine christmas theme was born. We added some of our own designs, and voilà, Santa Claus had to swap the reindeers for mermaids.

We went for a white tree, as to let pop out the vivid colours. Some of the decorations are stuffed, some are just cut from 3mm felt.

Enjoy!

octosilly

starorange

shell

With an octopus from my son's stuffy collection
With an octopus from my son's stuffy collection

have-some-fish

jellyred

cuttlefish

Sewn by my eight-year-old daughter
Sewn by my eight-year-old daughter

coquillage

jellywhite

pinkcrab

nautilus

stargreen

Here those two notes? Accelerating?
Hear those two notes? Accelerating?

2 thoughts on “THE STORY BEHIND THE TREE

  1. futuregirl January 9, 2009 / 12:53 am

    I love this tree! The red shell is my favorite, but the seahorse your daughter sewed is a close second! 🙂

  2. Rachel January 13, 2009 / 5:43 am

    WOW this is amazing! I SO wanted to do an ocean themed tree with FG’s ornaments but life got in the way. You’ve totally inspired me to start cranking these guys out!

Leave a comment